Feed has been the most challenging book for me to date, I experienced such difficulty understanding what was actually happening in the book that it was tedious to continue reading.  After taking several breaks from reading, I realized that my difficulty stemmed from M. T. Anderson’s choice of narrator. Titus provided me with a perspective that is very limited, albeit somewhat necessary, because for me it called attention to the fight to regain humanity.  When Titus is hospitalized, his father comes in and just looks at him, trying to “feed” him instead of verbally communicating (page 495 of kindle book), in this same scene Titus even refers to his brother as Smell Factor.   Other examples that add to the inhumanity involved in having Titus as an author comes when he and Violet get viruses, and the police want to subpoena his memories.  On page 531 Greg is reported to be malfunctioning, and Titus can’t write, especially not with a pen and on paper, and he can only read a little.   Titus maintains this fascination with Violet’s ability to write  for a few pages.  From my pre-computerized human mind, anyone that cannot read and write, is illiterate and has a problem advancing up the socioeconomic ladder.  In our society education is of the utmost importance, and the ability to read and write are the first stages of becoming educated.   The only humane occurrence on the part of Titus is his feelings for Violet, which is what sparked this concept of fighting for his humanity for me.

Titus also does not think for himself, and he does not question anything, which has alot to do with him having had the chip from infancy.  He provides a limited narrative because he doesn’t, or is not able to tell me much outside of the feed. His reliance on the feed annoys me, and I would prefer to have the perspective of someone who has experienced both the real world and the feed.  Violet is the most human of all of the teenagers, not only because she can read and write on paper with a pen, but because she remembers a time that they don’t, she knows what it means to question and challenge.

On another note, I dislike that so many questions for the reader go unanswered. I still need to know about those lesions, and what happened during the attack on them at the nightclub.    Even in Speak, I got a more rounded perspective because the narrator had a past to reflect on, and that was intertwined with her present, giving value to the story.  Having Titus for a narrator makes it very hard for me to pay attention and comprehend, which in turn makes it harder for me to care.  Really, it just frustrates me.

