When I first began reading Feed I was tripped up by the occasional “like” that was thrown in with the other teenage language. I read the language as the author’s attempt at making the teens, sound like teens. As I continued abbreviations flooded in such as “meg” for which I can assume mega and other very the likes which context clues had to be used to decode this somewhat abbreviated language. Again, I assumed the author was imprinting a young feel to the teen language of which readers would have fun with. Soon though I found that there was much more depth to this language. It did not represent just teens but all living in this time of the “feed”. This futuristic book showed how a false utopia could alter down to even the way we communicate. When parents first entered after the original jolted feed they even spoke as immaturely as the teens. Short speak was used and I realized this was not the way of the teens but rather a result of the technology, they were speaking how they m-chatted. 

This new structure of speech was not all that I noticed about the language in the book though. As the issue of appropriateness has risen several times throughout the class, I could not help but question it for this book as well. I still cannot pin down quite what age group should read this book. While I found it interesting and potentially enlightening to teens, the language used so casually seems beyond what I know at least my parents would find appropriate. But, yet again, perhaps the author is just pushing to the future. As teens today get more and more worldly at a young age with their language and their actions, so places the advancement of these teens in the far future. 

