When I first “read” this book, it seemed so confusing and difficult. I had no idea what to think about it. There were only a few things that seemed to resonate with me, and everything else was a blur. I definitely had to spend a lot more time on each page than I thought I would need to. After looking it over a second time, I began to understand that my initial confusion was not unwarranted–the entire book is meant to convey the foreign nature of immigration and travel. While much of the story did confuse me, there was one thing I noticed time and time again. There are several instances where people hold up a certain number of fingers to convey information (usually the cost of something). Even though I’ve only been totally immersed in a foreign world once before, I can definitely relate to this simple gesture that was so well conveyed here in the images. This made me think more about body language, and how we must rely on so many physical cues in this story due to the lack of words. No matter whether a child or adult is reading this book, we come to the playing field with about the same level of preparedness. Children who cannot read pay much closer attention to these cues when looking at an illustration of a book with words. As adults, we take advantage of our ability to read and might not realize how vital these small details are. When looking through The Arrival, I was reminded of this fact. By the end of “reading” it, I was fully refreshed by my ability to understand a story without any words, just as I had done so many times as a child. 

