So Often, as a little girl I found myself going on adventures of my own in my made up “wonderland” whether that was in my backyard, my living room, or my semi-constructed fort in my bedroom made from the  freshly washed sheets in the linen closet I was sure my mother was to fuss about when she returned home from work. In Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as well as Through the looking glass this idea of a young girl’s innocence while on a search of personal identity and self-discovery can be attributed to the feelings of many young 6 and 7 year old girls.  In the Keyword reading ” Children’s Literature” it discusses a great deak as to what exactly children’s literature is. Now while the controversial nature of the ” hookah smoking caterpillar” and the “magical cake” would leave readers to believe that these types of stories should not be read to children because it promotes illegal substance use, I believe that what is at the very core of the reading is in fact, the curiosity and self-discovery of a young 6 or 7 year old girl who pretends that she is at a tea party with talking animals.

On page 127 ” Alice said looking up at the house, pretending that it was talking to her.” Pretend play is essential to young children’s development. I believe that what both stories do especially is play on the fact that young children love to imagine and embark upon their own sense of personal journeys. Self-exploration and discovery is what I find to be most important because it allows children to escape from reality and ” get lost in the book” which is what Alice does in wonderland. She is caught up in her world of what our parents would call ” make-believe”.  We saw this same innocent journey in ” Where the Wild Things Are.”  This raises the question of ” Can pretend and fantasy play be harmful or helpful to children?” In some ways it can be seen as both in Through the Looking Glas. However, I would assert it is more helpful than hurtful. Through the Looking glass directly reflects what young children at the age would be doing. It effectively uses children’s literature to correlate a young child’s make believe play and puts it in plain text for them to imagine it there as well.

 

